The Greatest Shall Be Your Servant

I had the opportunity of listening to a discussion about SERVICE today, and I thought I should share what I learned…

I was actually going to at an unknown later date write a blog about my CORE VALUES (which I can see right now on that paper t-shirt) but I’ll at this time just limit what I have to say to one of them – SERVICE.

The dictionary defines it as “an act of helpful activity; help; aid.” It means going out of one’s way to assist people who need it. Service is needful because, well it is needed. We as humans are designed to NEED, and that is where service comes in. Service is other-centered, often to a reckless disregard of one’s own needs. Now there are varying degrees to which each individual would go to render service, but there is no arguing that it is indeed selfless.

A story was told today about a family who had a dying child, and how they needed money for medical expenses….and the mother, whose husband helped out the Pastor out earlier that morning by driving him to an important meeting, approached the Pastor’s wife for assistance but all she had to offer was “Let us pray”, which they most certainly did. The child died!

Now what does this have to do with service? The Pastor’s wife had the money that could have paid for the poor boys medical expenses, but she held on to it because she needed it for her personal use – her business ventures. Now do I blame her? Not necessarily, but certainly the money could have been of help.

Service! Remember what we have come to agree with, it’s other centered!

A person who serves rarely feels entitled to anything, s/he sees life, and everything in it as a gift that is not deserved…hence “my” or “mine” is the last vocabulary such a person would use.

“Everybody can be great… because anybody can serve. You don’t have to have a college degree to serve. You don’t have to make your subject and verb agree to serve. You only need a heart full of grace. A soul generated by love.” — Martin Luther King Jr.

So, why this value? It is a value that I’ve been opportune to be exposed to even as far back as the first time I drew in air into my lungs. Raised in a Christian home, and being shaped to a certain extent by principles as such has made me to continually marvel at the life of the central figure of Christianity. His was a life that exemplified this value from the time of his conception till his death. In fact, his descent to earth (as a human, from his throne in heaven) and association with humans is a form of selfless service. If you’re interested, click HERE to read about a particular act of service he showed, which I think envelopes all ideas of service. The title for this post is actually a reference his words. Some of my other heroes who have exemplified this particular value are Martin Luther King Jr, my Parents (Mom especially), and Gandhi among others.

Incidentally, I found myself a theme song to remind me of this particular value of mine. The first time I listened to the song, I played it at least 200 times…okay maybe not but you get the point. I’ve played it almost everyday since then. Listen below.

9 thoughts on “The Greatest Shall Be Your Servant

Leave a Reply

