Tired Already? So am I!

What’s really the point of having dreams. aspirations. hopes. goals?

Like, can we just stop already?

Friedrich Nietzsche (I think I’m a little obsessed with this guy!) once said:

Hope is the worst of all evils because it prolongs the torments of man.

This speaks of the disconnect (or so it seems) between the doing, and the waiting – the expectations we have for those beautiful dreams to come true.

I admit, it is frustrating. And especially when you’re THIS CLOSE.

However, like my mother always says to me:

It’s only a matter of time.

But, that’s exactly the gripe I have. Why do things like these take time?

I got reassured again yesterday by my mother, and also by the woman who will soon be my Supervisor – as I intern as a Health Education/ Social Science Researcher on health issues, mostly diabetes, among Mexican Americans –  to “believe in the beauty of [my] dreams”. The future belongs to those who do after all, if consideration is to be given to the words of Eleanor Roosevelt.

It’s that time between the conception of those dreams, and the eventual point when they come to life that’s the cliffhanger. And the suspense is killing me, I admit. I liken dreams to babies (oh precious sweet little creatures!), and please don’t picture this: but for my dreams, I am the pregnant woman…waiting to give birth. Same for you as well for your dreams!

It’s only a matter of time! In the meantime however, the deeds that will help bring those dreams to reality will have to continue… (no matter how arduous they may be at times!)

I’ll end on this note: with a song of course!

In the words of Elvis Presley. I would scream this on the top of a mountain – arms spread wide, mouth open wide, eyes upwards to the sky, all that jazz – only if I had access to one…

Tell me why, oh why, oh why can’t my dream come true…RIGHT NOW?

4 thoughts on “Tired Already? So am I!

  1. Cool I didn’t know you had a blog! Nice post. I’m pretty sure everyone goes through that stuff like the Elvis Presley song.

    1. Yes Victor. Thank you for stopping by my blog. And I do appreciate your comments as well 🙂 One step at a time, make that dream of yours come true man!!!

  2. Ha! Just put together why your blog is entitled what it is, “ofdreamsanddeeds” lol. Nice post. Short and sweet..but very encouraging. Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

