The World, Chico… And Everything In It.

12:32 AM.

Just a few hours ago, I was watching the movie Scarface for the very first time. The reaction to that might be,

o_0 …okay? And how does that relate to a blog about dreams?

And you would be justified for having that reaction!

I am yet to finish the movie, but with the first few scenes I’ve watched, I can easily deduce that Tony Montana (like so many others who leave their countries for one reason or the other) is caught up in the chase towards the American – wait for it – Dream.

To achieve this American Dream, people sacrifice and do so many things (sometimes unquestionable!) Dare I say Tony Montana is no different, except that he chose the much more grittier path.

The question is, “what are you willing to sacrifice to make your dreams come true?”

I was only about 40 something minutes into the movie when I stopped (thought I’d retire to bed for the night. I didn’t, here I am still writing this at 12:47 AM) and might I add, I stopped at a scene that captures the essence of what it means to be a dreamer. It surely resonates to the dreamer in me by reminding me the difference between being content and settling.

Dreamers never settle (and especially not for less than what is possible –  and it is if you can dream it!)

I’ll leave you with the clip of the scene in question:

Manny: “I say, be happy with what you got.”
Tony: “You be happy. Me, I want what’s coming to me.”
Manny: “Oh, well what’s coming to you, Tony?”
Tony: “The world, Chico, …And everything in it.”

Leave a Reply

