Year in Review – First Quarter

Since the last post of 2013 – my year in review, it’s been silent here at “of Dreams and Deeds”, and for good reason. It’s been a deliberate decision to deviate from just talking or in this case, writing about dreams, but rather to commit myself more to action (or deeds) as the name of the blog implies.

I liked the format the last post took, and decided to do something like it  for the year 2014; first to minimize the amount of posts on the blog and to be intentional about the few posts I do write.

And of course, there’s continued traffic on the posts I’ve written since the creation of the blog in 2012, and I still want attention on those – both from myself and those who visit the blog – as opposed to churning out new content for the sake of it.

Hence, upon dividing the year into quarters, there’ll be a post at the end of each quarter – a quarterly year in review of some sorts, if you may.

As far as the quarterly posts go, this means that you’ll be hearing from me (as you are now) in March, June, September and December. There will be the occasional one or two posts in between, before the quarterly posts arrive but other than those, that will be about it regarding posting on the blog for this year.

So with that said,

January started with making preparations for a poetry event centered on the soliloquies I’d written, in poetry format, on love which I intended to do in February – since it was Valentines season. I’d dreamed in times past about having such an event…except that I didn’t take a single step towards making sure it happened, but it had to be different this year – and it was!

And in February, it happened (not exactly what I dreamed) but it was exactly what I needed! And better yet, in line with what I hoped for this year to be, it was achieved through partnership; with help from the people around me.

As I wrote in the year in review post for 2013,

[The] word which I hope will drive all my action for the new year is PARTNERSHIP.

In the vlog I made when I turned 23, I mentioned a project I started working on then (which I called “23′)  that has now morphed into something that I originally did not intend or imagine it to be.

The 23 sections I discussed, which I hadn’t even finished at the time of my 23rd birthday last year, have now become the basis for 23 individual poetry events with the aim of prompting conversations about each section as it pertains to the journey we all are taking towards becoming the person we’d like to be for the rest of our lives. 2 events out of the 23 have already been completed, one last month along with the Valentines’ event and another just few days ago. More information about the project is here at www.23thejourney.com, and also you can follow (the journey) via Twitter.

The words below, from the music I’ll be posting for this quarter (Passenger’s “Life’s For The Living”), echoed in my head much more than I wanted it to – and served as a constant reminder of the singular goal I set out for myself this year; which is to “LIVE, by embracing ALL that life has to offer.”

Life’s for the living so live it
Or you’re better off dead…

Our lives are in seasons, and in this season, one thing I’m learning more than anything else is patience. To say the least, it’s sometimes frustrating! There are things I still want to accomplish, there are things I believe I *need to do/attain, but I am still subject to timing…which often brings about reasons for disappointment and discouragement.

This is, as I believe, due in part to the shift I’m making from merely dreaming my days away while hoping my dreams magically come to pass to getting off my butt to do what I can. Needless to say, there is still tension in balancing the dreamy self and the self that wants to see those dreams come to pass fast…by doing.

Of course, patience doesn’t mean just waiting idly…but there are times when you’ll have to do some waiting and that I’m still not good at. Over the past few months, there’s been a certain eagerness and anticipation for the next thing/things ahead, making it difficult to be present with what is, as of now – a component of patience. I hope I can take this into account as the new quarter starts tomorrow.

And since the win that gave birth to the words below happened in this quarter, I leave you with these words from Lupita Nyong’o:

your dreams are valid

With that as a conclusion, I hope to see you all in the next quarter 🙂

4 thoughts on “Year in Review – First Quarter

  1. Nooooo!!! You have to be here more. Wow! You won’t believe I keep checking your blog hoping to see something from you and here it is.

    It’s really good that you are chasing after your many dreams. Patience… I guess I’m still learning that. I’m in the process of publishing a book and I realise I need patience because it’s not going as fast as I will like it to but, I look back on the year and I can tick this on my dream list. Your blog, your words helped push me and I will be grateful for a long time. Oh, I did put something by you in the book (it’s your life to lead)… Now, I’m getting all emotional

    Still live in the moment while you chase your dreams. Don’t get so anxious about what tomorrow will be, you forget what today is. I wish it won’t have to be the next quarter before we hear from you but, it’s fine. You have to do the deeds part.
    By the way, I will like you to just check my blog once in a while. I’m sure you will find a word or two for you 🙂
    http://mateyscott.blogspot.co.uk

    1. Your comment is very very very spot on! I needed it (and most likely will do for a long while) in more ways than you know. Thank you, Mayowa 🙂 The post for the next quarter, which is about to end in a few days, has been brewing inside me for a while now and now that things are relatively calm…I’ll get to writing it.

Leave a Reply

